Interspot Film – a success story

There is almost no other Austrian production company that can look back at such a long and interesting history. Everything started with Rudolf Klingohr, who founded Interspot Film in 1969 after completing his studies at the Austrian film academy and working successfully as a documentary filmmaker. Several important film and television projects helped the rapid growth of the company. Interspot Film became one of the largest production companies in the country. National and international awards continued to prove that Interspot Film was on the right path. Rudolf Klingohr received four ROMYs, Austria's most prestigous television award, for his role as producer. In 2012, he handed the company over to his two sons, Nikolaus and Nils Klingohr.


Today, the company has a staff of more than fifty employees and is located in Vienna's 23. district. The extensive company facilities include the office building with its own coffee house and the adjacent studios. It is the perfect location for every type of television production

Awards of excellence

Awards of excellence

The UNIVERSUM production "A good wine - The genesis of wine" was awarded for "Best of Festival" at the New York Film Festival and again, eight years later, at the Palais Luxembourg in Paris: "Prix Paysages et Environnement" (award for environment and agriculture", the "Prix de l´Academie Amorim" (award of the wine academy Amorim), and the main award by the international wine film festival, the "Trophée Special du Grand Jury". Direction and script of the documentary about the austrian wine by Karl Hohenlohe.

Awards of excellence 1998
Dinner-Dreams

Dinner-Dreams

Founding of the company Dinner-Dreams together with the Austrian chef Reinhard Gerer and producer Georg Matea.

1987
Interspot Film goes Music

Interspot Film goes Music

The video clip for Falco´s song "Jeanny, Part I" was produced by Interspot Film. Beside the own studios, the Vienna canalization as well as streets of Guntramsdorf are Shooting locations. In the following years, Interspot Film also produced other videos for other famous Austrian musicians such as Reinhard Fendrich, Opus, Ludwig Hirsch, Georg Danzer and Wolfgang Ambros.

1986
Commercial Pietro Pizzi for Dr. Oetker

Commercial Pietro Pizzi for Dr. Oetker

In the following three years, Interspot Film is producing the legendary commercials for "Pietro Pizzi". Film location was the converted city square of Bruck an der Leitha.

1986
Kutscherhof, the new home of Interspot Film

Kutscherhof, the new home of Interspot Film

Toghether with ten employees, Interspot Film is relocated to an old carriage building at Speisinger Straße. Later the Kutscherhof is becoming a TV star itself: the reality TV show "Taxi Orange" was produced by Interspot Film in their studios on site.

Kutscherhof, the new home of Interspot Film 1986
Attention! Camera ...

Attention! Camera ...

Karl Hohenlohe, and later Harald Prünster, presented the show "Attention! Camera" where people been leading up the garden path.

1984
Fashion by Interspot Film

Fashion by Interspot Film

Interspot Film produced the first Fashion-TV. Mrs Burgi Schneider-Manns Au presented the fashion and lifestyle format under the title "Mode", later called "Look". Until 1995 she informed weekly about the international trends.

1981
Rose d´Or

Rose d´Or

Rose d´Or 1979
Christoph Waltz debut in an Interspot production

Christoph Waltz debut in an Interspot production

In the Interspot Film TV production "Die Goldene Rose von Montreux" (The Golden Rose of Montreux) directed by Reinhard Schwabenitzky, Christoph Waltz made his debut, next to Ernst Josef Lauscher, Heinz Marecek and Michaela Rosen.

1978
First video camera and outside broadcast vehicle

First video camera and outside broadcast vehicle

Purchase of the first video camera and an outside broadcast vehicle.

1978
Der Baum des vergessenen Hundes

Der Baum des vergessenen Hundes

Interspot produces his first motion picture - "Der Baum des vergessenen Hundes" (The Tree of the lost dog). Script: Barbara Frischmuth. Direction: C. Rainer Ecke. Camera: Xaver Schwarzenberger. Leading Actors: Andrea Jonasson and Joachim Bissmeier.

1976
SchoolTV

SchoolTV

The production of the first Interspot serie for the SchoolTV of the ORF boarched the issue "How do we hear", "How does a republic works" or "What is courage" with an interview of the racer Jacky Stewart or "Hamlet in 15 minutes" with renowned actors from the Vienna Burgtheatre. Together with the later ORF information director Hannes Leopoldeder, series such as "Our School" and "Computer Family" are produced in the Interspot studios.

SchoolTV 1973
The end of the herdsmen

The end of the herdsmen

"The end of the herdsmen" was a documentary about the drought catastrophe in the Sahel zone. It was the first production for the ORF (Austrian National TV), co-author was the later art critic of Kronen Zeitung, Erwin Melchert. The former ORF director Helmut Zilk initated the documentary, which turned to become a big donation success.

1971
TV spot production for Tyrolia bindings

TV spot production for Tyrolia bindings

Extensive shooting for bindings of the Austrian company Tyrolia for the US market at Arlberg. Every evening, the material was screened at the local Cinema. The post production was done in New York on costumer request.

TV spot production for Tyrolia bindings 1970
"LACALUT" toothpaste

"LACALUT" toothpaste

1969
Founding

Founding

Interspot Film-Gesellschaft was founded on December 11 in a small condo in Vienna. The idea of Rudolf Klingohr, alumnus of the film academy (camera and production): a film production company for TV spots.

Founding 1969

ERFOLGSGESCHICHTE INTERSPOT FILM

Kaum eine andere österreichische Filmproduktion kann auf eine so lange und bewegte Geschichte zurückblicken: Alles begann mit Rudolf Klingohr, der nach seinem Studium an der Filmakademie und einer erfolgreichen Tätigkeit als Dokumentarfilmer im Jahr 1969 die Interspot Film GmbH gründete. Zahlreiche bedeutende Projekte für Film und Fernsehen ließen das Unternehmen schnell wachsen. Die Interspot Film GmbH entwickelte sich zu einer der größten Filmproduktionen des Landes. Nationale und internationale Auszeichnungen bestätigten den eingeschlagenen Weg. Insgesamt vier Mal wurde Rudolf Klingohr mit der goldenen Romy als bester Produzent ausgezeichnet. Im Jahr 2012 schließlich übergab Unternehmensgründer Rudolf Klingohr das Zepter an seine beiden Söhne Nikolaus und Nils Klingohr.


Heute verfügt das Unternehmen mit Sitz im 23. Wiener Gemeindebezirk über einen fixen Stab von über 50 Mitarbeitern. Auf dem weitläufigen Areal der Interspot Film GmbH befindet sich nicht nur der Bürokomplex mit hauseigenem Kaffeehaus, sondern auch die direkt angeschlossenen Filmstudios. 

Hohe Auszeichnungen

Hohe Auszeichnungen

Die UNIVERSUM Doku „Edler Tropfen – Vom Werden des Weins“ wird beim New Yorker Film-Festival zum „Best of Festival“ gekürt und acht Jahre später nochmals mehrfach im Palais Luxembourg ausgezeichnet: Beim internationalen Weinfestival mit den Auszeichnungen "Prix Paysages et Environnement" (Preis für Umwelt und Landwirtschaft), dem "Prix de l´Academie Amorim" (Preis der Weinakademie Amorim), und auch mit dem Hauptpreis des internationalen Weinfilmfestivals, der "Trophée Special du Grand Jury". Verantwortlich für Regie und Drehbuch zum Film über den österreichischen Wein ist Karl Hohenlohe.

Hohe Auszeichnungen 1998
Dinner-Dreams

Dinner-Dreams

Gründung der Firma Dinner-Dreams gemeinsam mit dem österreichischen Spitzenkoch Reinhard Gerer und Regisseur Georg Matea.

1987
Interspot Film goes Music

Interspot Film goes Music

Das Musikvideo von Falco zu "Jeanny, Part I" wird von Interspot Film produziert. Neben den eigenen Studios wird auch in der Wiener Kanalisation gedreht sowie in Guntramsdorf. Interspot Film ist auch für andere Musikgrößen die Anlaufstelle für Videoproduktionen wie u.a. Reinhard Fendrich, Opus, Ludwig Hirsch, Georg Danzer und Wolfgang Ambros.

1986
Pietro Pizzi Werbespot für Dr. Oetker

Pietro Pizzi Werbespot für Dr. Oetker

In den kommenden drei Jahren produziert Interspot regelmäßig die legendären Werbespots für „Pietro Pizzi“ – am eigens dafür umgebauten Hauptplatz von Bruck an der Leitha.

1986
Interspot Film übersiedelt in den Kutscherhof

Interspot Film übersiedelt in den Kutscherhof

Interspot Film übersiedelt mit mittlerweile zehn MitarbeiterInnen in ein Fuhrwerkerhaus auf der Speisinger Straße. Später wird der Kutscherhof selbst ein Fernsehstar: Die Teilnehmer der von Interspot produzierten Reality-TV-Show „Taxi Orange“ fanden zwei Staffeln lang in den Studios dort vorübergehend Heimstatt.

Interspot Film übersiedelt in den Kutscherhof 1986
Achtung Kamera!

Achtung Kamera!

Karl Hohenlohe, und später Harald Prünster, führten in „Achtung Kamera!“ regelmäßig Leute auf der Strasse auf´s Glatteis.

1984
Fashion by Interspot Film

Fashion by Interspot Film

Interspot macht erstes Fashion-TV. Wöchentlich informiert Burgi Schneider-Manns Au im Mode- und Lifestylemagazin, das zuerst unter dem Sendungstitel "Mode" und später unter "Look" bis ins Jahr 1995 ausgestrahlt wird, über internationale Mode- und Lifestyle-Trends.

1981
Goldene Rose von Montreux

Goldene Rose von Montreux

Lukas Resetarits geht mit dem von Interspot Film produzierten Komödie „Wochenende in Wien“ am Fernsehfestival in Montreux ins Rennen, in dem er auch die Hauptrolle spielt. Die Sendung „Musik aus Wien“ mit Bariton und Operndirektor Eberhard Waechter sowie prominenten Sängern bezaubern die TV Zuschauer.

Goldene Rose von Montreux 1979
Christoph Waltz Spielfilm-Debüt

Christoph Waltz Spielfilm-Debüt

Christoph Waltz gibt in der Interspot Fernsehproduktion „Die Goldene Rose von Montreux“ von Reinhard Schwabenitzky neben Ernst Josef Lauscher, Heinz Marecek und Michaela Rosen sein Spielfilmdebüt.

1978
Erste Videokamera und Übertragungswagen

Erste Videokamera und Übertragungswagen

Anschaffung der ersten Videokamera und Bau des ersten Übertragungswagen für die Interspot.

1978
Der Baum des vergessenen Hundes

Der Baum des vergessenen Hundes

Interspot produziert mit „Der Baum des vergessenen Hundes“ seinen ersten großen Spielfilm. Drehbuch: Barbara Frischmuth. Regie: C. Rainer Ecke. Kamera: Xaver Schwarzenberger. Als Hauptdarsteller fungieren Andrea Jonasson und Joachim Bissmeier.

1976
Schulfernsehen

Schulfernsehen

Produktion der ersten Interspot-Serie für das Schulfernsehen im Auftrag des ORF thematisierte u.a. „Wie funktioniert das Hören“, „Wie funktioniert eine Republik“ oder „Was ist Mut“ mit einem Interview von Rennfahrer Jacky Stewart oder „Hamlet in 15 Minuten“ mit namhaften Schauspielern des Burgtheaters. Mit dem späteren ORF-Informationsintendanten Hannes Leopoldseder werden „Unsere Schule“ und „Computerfamilie“ in den eigenen Studios gedreht.

Schulfernsehen 1973
Das Ende der Hirten

Das Ende der Hirten

„Das Ende der Hirten“, eine Dokumentation über die Dürrekatastrophe in der Sahel-Zone, war die erste TV Produktion für den ORF. Co-Autor war Erwin Melchert, späterer Kunstkritiker der Kronen Zeitung. Den Auftrag zur Doku erteilte der damalige ORF-Programmdirektor Helmut Zilk, der Film führte zu einem großen ORF Spenden-Erfolg.

1971
Tyrolia-Skibindung TV-Spots

Tyrolia-Skibindung TV-Spots

Aufwendiger Dreh des Tyrolia-Skibindung TV-Spots für den amerikanischen Markt am Arlberg. Jeden Abend wurde im ortsansässigen Kino das gedrehte Material mit dem Kunden gesichtet. Der Schnitt und die Abnahme des Spots erfolgt in New York auf Wunsch der Agentur.

Tyrolia-Skibindung TV-Spots 1970
“LACALUT”-Zahncreme

“LACALUT”-Zahncreme

Es folgt die Produktion des ersten Werbespots für “LACALUT”-Zahncreme. Kreativ und mit einfachen Mitteln begeistert der Spot mit dem Slogan „Spenden Sie ihr Blut einem guten Zweck, nicht ihrer Zahnbürste

1969
Gründung

Gründung

Am 11. Dezember wird die Interspot Film-Gesellschaft in einer Garcionerre in der Leopoldstadt gegründet. Die damalige Idee von Rudolf Klingohr, Abgänger der Filmakademie (Kamera und Produktion): eine Werbefilmfirma für Werbespots.

Gründung 1969